Championships Wrap: Latrobe Valley Hosts Biggest Country Championships in Over a Decade

Published Tue 11 Jun 2024

The 2024 Volleyball Victoria Country Championships wrapped up on Monday after a long weekend of exceptional competitive full-format, 5-set volleyball between the country Victoria volleyball associations.

A short post-event survey is now available to collect important feedback from participants. Please take 10 minutes to complete the survey before Monday 17 June, 2024.

Take the Survey

The event was hosted in the Latrobe Valley across three venues over the King’s Birthday Long Weekend, 7-10 June 2024. 43 teams across six divisions (three women’s and three men’s) jousted for bragging rights over the other country associations, a record number of entries for the Championships in over a decade, with the Gippsland Regional Indoor Sports Stadium (GRISS), Latrobe Leisure Churchill, and Latrobe Leisure Morwell the three venues providing eight volleyball courts overall.

Volleyball Victoria would like to thank the support of the Latrobe City Council and Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association for these Championships. We would like to acknowledge and thank the incredible hard work and service provided across the weekend by Tournament Director Kylie Bloodworth, Referee Delegate Murray Mansfield (VV Life Member), Hall Supervisors Ian Burgess and Howard Williams (VV Life Members), all the referees, volunteers, and staff who made the 2024 Championships such a success.

Thank you also to all the Victorian country volleyball associations, coaches, players, team managers, and administrators, for embracing the spirit and respecting the history of this competition - the level of team entries shows how highly regarded, anticipated, and enjoyed the annual Country Championships are.

The full list of results from every match can be viewed on the Country Championships hub on the Volleyball Victoria website.

For the list of medallists and award winners, please see below:

Chairperson’s Trophy: Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association

Division One Women:
Gold: Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association
Silver: Volleyball Horsham
Bronze: Warrnambool Volleyball Association

MVP: Gabrielle Lougheed (Warrnambool Volleyball Association)

All-Star 7:
Gabrielle Lougheed (Warrnambool Volleyball Association)
Alice Shaw (Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association)
Laelah Robertson (Volleyball Horsham)
Kara Johnson (Volleyball Horsham)
Ashleigh Vuillermin (Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association)
Best Setter - Jesse Lawton (Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association)
Best Libero - Behnoush Seyedi (Bendigo Volleyball Association)

Division One Men:
Gold: Sunraysia Volleyball
Silver: Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association
Bronze: Volleyball Horsham

MVP: Will Crawford (Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association)

All-Star 7:
Will Crawford (Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association)
Dylan Lucchesi (Sunraysia Volleyball)
Lachlan Chester (Bendigo Volleyball Association)
Zachery Hermans (Sunraysia Volleyball)
Lachlan Parkinson (Bendigo Volleyball Association)
Best Setter - Kade Zrna (Sunraysia Volleyball)
Best Libero - Lachlan Moreland (Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association)

Division Two Women:
Gold: Mornington Volleyball Association
Silver: Bairnsdale Volleyball Association
Bronze: South Gippsland Volleyball

MVP: Andrea Axford (South Gippsland Volleyball) and Georgie Hassell (Surf Coast Volleyball Association)

All-Star 7:
Andrea Axford (South Gippsland Volleyball)
Georgie Hassell (Surf Coast Volleyball Association)
Hannah Leonard (Bairnsdale Volleyball Association)
Kate Eason (Surf Coast Volleyball Association)
Alexandra Scott (South Gippsland Volleyball)
Best Setter - Natalie Mackay (Bairnsdale Volleyball Association)
Best Libero - Sarah Damon (South Gippsland Volleyball)

Division Two Men:
Gold: Macedon Ranges Volleyball Association
Silver: Warrnambool Volleyball Association
Bronze: Bairnsdale Volleyball Association

MVP: Jack Shing (Surf Coast Volleyball Association)

All-Star 7:
Jack Shing (Surf Coast Volleyball Association)
Jonny Knight (Bairnsdale Volleyball Association)
Connor Boyd (Mornington Volleyball Association)
Joel Reynolds (Bairnsdale Volleyball Association)
Furqan Ali (Latrobe Valley Volleyball Association)
Best Setter - Lachlan Burne (Mornington Volleyball Association)
Best Libero - Colin Clissold (Bairnsdale Volleyball Association)

Division Three Women:
Gold: South Gippsland Volleyball 1
Silver: Volleyball Albury Wodonga
Bronze: Bendigo Volleyball Association 1

MVP: Charlotte Smith (South Gippsland Volleyball)

All-Star 7:
Bridget Arden (Warrnambool Volleyball Association)
Charlotte Smith (South Gippsland Volleyball)
Jordana Ciccarello (Volleyball Albury Wodonga)
Giada Taccori (Volleyball Albury Wodonga)
Bronte Annand (Bendigo Volleyball Association)
Best Setter - Pallas Condon (Bendigo Volleyball Association)
Best Libero - Maya Antonic (Bendigo Volleyball Association)

Division Three Men:
Gold: Volleyball Ballarat
Silver: Geelong Amateur Volleyball Association
Bronze: South Gippsland Volleyball

MVP: Liam Holding (Volleyball Ballarat) and Jackson Gee (Warrnambool Volleyball Association)

All-Star 7: 
Liam Holding (Volleyball Ballarat)
Jackson Gee (Warrnambool Volleyball Association)
Declan McKay (Geelong Amateur Volleyball Association)
Cainan Ormsby (Mornington Volleyball Association)
Jagger Wood (Surf Coast Volleyball Association)
Best Setter - Rakulan Thayananthan (Geelong Amateur Volleyball Association)
Best Libero - Paris Junnoel Mina (Geelong Amateur Volleyball Association)

Referee of the Championships: Guiseppe Vigliarolo
Referee Encouragement Award: Michael Axford